02 mars 7:30

Medtner - Tchaikovsky / Orchestre Métropolitain

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Yannick Nézet-Séguin et Serhiy Salov

Medtner – Tchaikovsky

Nothing is more moving than to hear artists play music that thrills them. Serhiy Salov, the pianist and the OM’s soloist in residence, performs Medtner’s Piano Concerto No. 1. A friend of Rachmaninoff and a Russian musical critic, Medtner devoted his life and art to classical musical in its most traditional form. Yannick Nézet-Séguin then conducts Tchaikovsky’s fourth symphony, nicknamed “Fate.” The imposing first movement sets the tone for this work of extraordinary emotional depth.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Serhiy Salov, piano

MEDTNER : Piano Concerto No. 1

TCHAIKOVSKY : Symphony No. 4

Orchestre Métropolitain Website